2006 News Story

Elections held for the Jeddah Teacher’s College student council

The Jeddah Teacher’s College has announced the 21 winners of the May 2 student council elections, the Arab News reported yesterday.

Students from the college’s nine departments elected 21 members of the 25-member council. The dean of the college, Hassan Aayel, will nominate the remaining four members.

The chairman of the election committee, Nassir Abu Sariha, provided Arab News with a complete list of the winners:

Abdullah Al-Harbi and Hussein Sharhan (English), Abdul Rahman Al-Asmari and Abdul Aziz Al-Malki (science), Nafi Al-Salami, Muhammad Al-Johni and Naif Al-Mutairi (Mathematics), Ali Hakami and Abdullah Hazazi (Qur’anic studies), Anwar Al-Salami, Fahd Al-Shammarani, Tareq Al-Salami and Anwar Al-Sadiri (Arabic), Olwan Al-Qarni, Ahmad Al-Somali, Naif Al-Ghamdi (special education), and Sami Al-Shammarani, Abdul Rahman Al-Shahari, Munaji Al-Kanaani, Muhammad Al-Qahtani and Sharaf Al-Medwahi (computer science).

Students of the college are hoping that the council will help resolve problems involving accommodations, stipends and class schedules, the Arab News noted.