2005 News Story

Crown Prince Abdullah approves three new universities

Deputy Prime Minister and Commander of the National Guard Crown Prince Abdullah bin Abdulaziz has approved a plan to establish three new universities. Minister of Higher Education Dr Khalid Al-Anqari said the three will carry the names of the towns in which they will be located: Jizan, Hail and Al-Jouf.

There are currently eleven public universities. The most recent are the University of Qassim, the University of Taif, and the Taiba University in Madinah, which were formed last year from branches of older universities.