2001 News Story

Discussions continue on Arab duty-free zone

Foreign Minister Prince Saud Al-Faisal headed the Saudi delegation to the 11th session, held in Cairo September 7 and 8, of the Arab Economic and Social Council follow-up committee assigned to implement the Arab duty-free zone. The proposed duty-free zone covers Bahrain, Egypt, Iraq, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Morocco, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Syria, Tunisia, and the United Arab Emirates. The outcome of the meeting will be submitted to the Council's scheduled session in Cairo September 12-13.